My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century
My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century by Rachel Harris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Caterina (Cat) Crawford, daughter of a Hollywood movie producer, just wants to be left alone. She’s a shy, artistic girl who doesn’t care for the limelight. Abandoned at a young age by her Mother, she and her Dad made a good team until her Dad meets someone new. Dad’s new girlfriend, Jenna, is bright and bubbly (everything Cat is not). Jenna wants to throw a huge sweet 16 birthday bash for Cat that will be televised and be a huge gala event. Cat wants no part of it. On a vacation to Italy with Dad and Jenna, on a whim Cat visits a gypsy fortune teller. Somehow she ends up traveling back in time to Renaissance Italy. While it is an artist’s dream come true to see Michelangelo’s statue of David when it was a new work of art, Cat is a little scared to find herself living someone else’s life, and she has no clue how to get back to her own life.

I thought this story was nicely done. It was cute, and it grew on me as I read. I did think it was a little silly to have her actually meet Michelangelo, but I found myself concerned for her as some of the less than civilized parts of the past cropped up. A young lady living in the 1500’s had a vastly different life than today’s young women enjoy.

This is a good and quick read if you like time travel stories. I enjoyed it. I am reading the second book in the series now.

View all my reviews

