16181775Goodreads Review – 3 out of 5 stars

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion was an interesting story. Perhaps because I’d read another review that likened it to the Big Bang Theory TV show, I couldn’t get that comparison out of my mind. Professor Don Tillman is a genetics professor, and it’s hinted at that he has Asperger’s Syndrome. I have one son with Asperger’s and another with Autism so I am very familiar with the personality traits and characteristics. The Professor has decided to start “the Wife Project” because he feels it’s time to get married. He puts together a 16 page double-sided questionnaire to filter out the unsuitable candidates. Rosie is sent to see him by a friend, and since she is not a suitable candidate, Don ends up starting “the Rosie Project” instead to help her find her biological father.

There were parts of this book that were funny, but I don’t think it was hysterically funny. It could have been funnier. I found the professor’s thought pattern habit of guessing everyone’s age and BMI when he met them to be tiresome after a while. That was the main Asperger’s trait that seemed to stick. He even loosened up his rigid schedule and habits as the story went on. The characters were from Australia, and I didn’t get that until they were on a plane to New York, and then I had to back track and try to figure out where they were coming from. I wish there had been more description of Don’s physical appearance other than with a different haircut, he looked a bit like Gregory Peck. Maybe a better description would have erased the image of Sheldon Cooper from my mind’s eye every time I tried to visualize the story.

I liked the book, but I didn’t love it. I kept waiting for something else to happen. It just felt like it was lacking something. I wish it had been less like Big Bang and there had been more romance or humor or more something.

