A Goodreads Review: 3 out of 5 stars

darkwitch

In Dark Witch: Book One of the Cousins O’Dwyer Trilogy by Nora Roberts, we meet Iona Sheehan. Iona has ventured to Ireland to learn more about her family history and to meet her cousins, Branna and Connor. Iona finds that she and her cousins must work together to defeat an evil sorcerer.

I haven’t read anything by Nora Roberts in years. I gave up on her when she decided to jump into the vampire genre with Morrigan’s Cross (what an awful book that was!). I’m not sure how I feel about Dark Witch. It had its moments, and it’s typical Nora Roberts. It was a fairly quick read to an unsatisfying conclusion that leads to the next book in the series. I wish she had done more with character development. She didn’t explain a lot about Iona other than to say she was sunny and talked a lot and had been raised by parents who were cold and unfeeling. If that was the case, how did she turn out as cheerful as she was? I would also have liked to know more about the hero, Boyle (kind-of an unfortunate name). He owned a stable and used to be a boxer. Other than that, we don’t learn much about him personally either. Why does Iona fall in love with him other than for his good looks?

I am hoping NR explains more as the series continues, but I doubt she will. The second book will be about the second couple, and the third book will be about the third couple with a glossing over of what makes them all tick as well.

I get the feeling lately that Nora Roberts now rushes to meet deadlines and turns out only mediocre books. Maybe she doesn’t have to try as hard. I used to enjoy her novels very much.

